Association Banner


  1. 1926, William Beebe, Pheasants of the World, New York Zoological Company.

  2. 1927, Ernest Thompson Seton, Lives of Game Animals, Charles Scribner's Sons.

  3. 1928, John Russell McCarthy, Nature Poems,Publisher Unknown.

  4. 1929, Frank M. Chapman, Handbook of Birds of Eastern North America (1906), Appleton.

  5. 1930, Archibald Rutledge, Peace in the Heart, Doubleday.

  6. 1931, NO AWARD.

  7. 1932, Frederick S. Dellenbaugh, A Canyon Voyage,Publisher Unknown.

  8. 1933, Oliver P. Medsger; Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter (set), Wayne.

  9. 1934, W.W. Christman, Wild Pasture Pine, The Argus Company.

  10. 1935, NO AWARD.

  11. 1936, Charles Crawford Gorst, Recordings of Bird Calls, Publisher Unknown.

  12. 1937, NO AWARD.

  13. 1938, Robert Cushman Murphy, Oceanic Birds of South America, American Museum of Natural History.

  14. 1939, Gilbert T. Pearson, Adventures in Bird Protection, Appleton.

  15. 1940, Arthur Cleveland Bent, Life Histories of North American Birds (18 title series), United States Government Printing Office.

  16. 1941, Louis J. Halle Jr., Birds Against Men, The Viking Press.

  17. 1942, Edward A. Armstrong, Birds of the Grey Wind, Oxford.

  18. 1943, Edwin Way Teale, Near Horizons, Dodd, Mead.

  19. 1944, NO AWARD.

  20. 1945, Rutherford Platt, This Green World, Dodd, Mead.

  21. 1946, Mr. & Mrs. Francis Lee Jaques, Snowshoe Country, University of Minnesota Press.

  22. 1947, NO AWARD.

  23. 1948, Theodora Stanwell-Fletcher, Driftwood Valley,Little.

  24. 1949, Helen G. Cruickshank, Flight Into Sunshine, Macmillan.

  25. 1950, Roger Tory Peterson, Birds Over America, Dodd, Mead.

  26. 1951, NO AWARD.

  27. 1952, Rachel Carson, The Sea Around Us, Oxford University Press.

  28. 1953, Gilbert Klingel, The Bay, Dodd, Mead.

  29. 1954, Joseph Wood Krutch,The Desert Year, Bobbs.

  30. 1955, Wallace B. Grange; Olaus J. Murie (illustrator), Those of the Forest, Devin-Adair.

  31. 1956, Guy Murchie, Song of the Sky, Houghton Mifflin.

  32. 1957, Archie Fairly Carr, The Windward Road, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

  33. 1958, Robert Porter Allen, On the Trail of the Vanishing Birds, McGraw-Hill.

  34. 1959, NO AWARD.

  35. 1960, John Kieran, A Natural History of New York City, Houghton Mifflin.

  36. 1961, Loren C. Eiseley, The Firmament of Time, Random House.

  37. 1962, George Miksch Sutton, Iceland Summer, University of Oklahoma Press.

  38. 1963, Adolph Murie, A Naturalist in Alaska, Devin-Adair.

  39. 1964, John Hay, The Great Beach, Doubleday.

  40. 1965, Paul Brooks, Roadless Area, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

  41. 1966, Louis Darling, The Gull's Way, Morrow.

  42. 1967, Charlton Ogburn, Jr., The Winter Beach, Morrow.

  43. 1968, Hal Borland, Hill Country Harvest, Lippincott.

  44. 1969, Louise de Kiriline Lawrence, The Lovely and the Wild, McGraw-Hill.

  45. 1970, Victor B. Scheffer, The Year of the Whale, Charles Scribner's Sons.

  46. 1971, John K. Terres, From Laurel Hill to Siler's Bog, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

  47. 1972, Robert S. Arbib, The Lord's Woods, Norton.

  48. 1973, Elizabeth Barlow, The Forests and Wetlands of New York City, Little, Brown.

  49. 1974, Sigurd F. Olson, Wilderness Days, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

  50. 1975, NO AWARD.

  51. 1976, Ann Haymond Zwinger, Run, River, Run, Harper and Row.

  52. 1977, Aldo Leopold, ASand County Almanac, Tamarac-Oxford.

  53. 1978, Ruth Kirk, The American Southwest Desert, Houghton Mifflin.

  54. 1979, Barry Holstun Lopez, Of Wolves and Men, Charles Scribner's Sons.

  55. 1980, NO AWARD.

  56. 1981, Mary Durant & Michael Harwood, On the Road with John James Audubon, Dodd, Mead.

  57. 1982, Peter Matthiessen, Sand Rivers, The Viking Press.

  58. 1983, Alexander F. Skutch, A Naturalist on a Tropical Farm, University of California Press.

  59. 1984, David Rains Wallace, The Klamath Knot, Sierra Club Books.

  60. 1985, Mark & Delia Owens, Cry of the Kalahari, Houghton Mifflin.

  61. 1986, Gary Paul Nabhan, Gathering the Desert, University of Arizona Press.

  62. 1987, Michael Robert Pyle, Wintergreen, Charles Scribner's Sons.

  63. 1988, Tom Horton; Charles R. Hazard (illustrator), Bay Country, Johns Hopkins University Press.

  64. 1989, Lawrence Kilham, On Watching Birds, Chelsea Green.

  65. 1990, John McPhee, The Control of Nature, Farrar Strauss Giroux.

  66. 1991, Richard Nelson, The Island Within, North Point Press.

  67. 1992, Kenneth S. Norris, Dolphin Days, W.W. Norton and Co.

  68. 1993, Vincent Dethier, Crickets and Katydids, Concerts and Solos, Harvard University Press.

  69. 1994, David G. Campbell, The Crystal Desert: Summers in Antarctica, Houghton MIfflin.

  70. 1995, Craig Packer, Into Africa, University of Chicago Press.

  71. 1996, Bill Green, Water, Ice and Stone, Harmony Books.

  72. 1997, David Quammen, The Song Of The Dodo,Scribner.

  73. 1998, John Alcock, In a Desert Garden, W.W. Norton.

  74. 1999, Jan DeBlieu, Wind: How the Flow of Air Has Shaped Life, Myth, and the Land., Houghton Mifflin.

  75. 2000, Bernd Heindrich, Mind Of the Raven, HarperCollins.

Burroughs Medal Winners Essay Awards Young Reader Awards

Membership Information John Burroughs Home